The narrow-gauge railway from Poreč to Trieste, popularly known as the Parenzana, was opened in 1902 with the purpose of connecting the poorest parts of the northwestern peninsula with large markets in the cities where wine, olive oil, fruit, vegetables, grain, wood, stone and other products from Istria were sold. Driving along the 123 km long route took as long as 7 hours and 20 minutes with a top speed of only 25 km/h. Legend has it that after the closing of the railway in 1935, when the business became unprofitable due to the development of bus transport that was both faster and cheaper, the rails were dismantled and, by Mussolini’s direct order, loaded on a ship to Abyssinia (today’s Ethiopia). However, they never arrived because the ship was sunk on the way to Africa by the Allied air forces. Contrary to legends, historical sources confirm that wagons, rails and other materials were sold at a public auction. The railway corridor and various remains of its construction still stand as a testimony of times past- a large number of accompanying railway buildings, as many as 11 bridges, viaducts and tunnels tell the tale of extremely valuable construction. The section stretching from Grožnjan to Oprtalj and Livade is considered to be the most interesting architectural part of the route, where four of the six viaducts and six of the nine tunnels on the entire line were built.